Transforming the world through education
|Province of Africa

Province of Africa

The Provincial Council (2015-2019)
(Left to right)  Sister Grace Okon, provincial councilor, Sister Joyce Nyakwama, provincial leader, and Sister Victoria Swanzy-Essien, provincial councilor / vicar

Images of Mother Theresa in the province

The Province of Africa encompasses five countries: The Gambia, Sierra Leone, Ghana, Nigeria, and Kenya with some sisters also serving in South Sudan and the USA. Ministries include

  • Formal education in schools from kindergarten through the tertiary level
  • Health care
  • Spiritual formation of adults
  • Pastoral care in parish settings
  • Vocational training of women
  • Social ministry with victims of HIV/AIDs and women in prison.

The Province of Africa was inaugurated on August 28, 2011.

For more information see:


Some places of ministry within the province

Print Friendly, PDF & Email