Transforming the world through education

Bavarian Province

The Provincial Council for the Bavarian Province

The Provincial Council for the Bavarian Province
Left to right: S. M. Doris Obermeier, Provincial Councilor,
S. M. Monika Schmidt, Provincial Leader, and
S. Maria-Theresia Knippschild, Provincial Councilor/Vicar.

Images of Mother Theresa in the province

The congregation had its beginning is what is now known as the Bavarian Province. The motherhouse is in Munich. The final resting place of our founder, Blessed M. Theresa Gerhardinger is in the chapel of the motherhouse, St. James church.

Over 430 sisters are part of the Bavarian Province. They live and minister in Germany, Sweden, Romania, and Italy. A map of their locations in Bavaria is below.

Beginning in February 2022, the Austria-Italy (ÖR-IT) and the Czechoslovakian (CE) provinces became affiliated as districts with the Bavarian Province (BY).  (Photos and video of the installation)

The name of the congregation in German is Arme Schulschwestern von Unserer Lieben Frau.

Links:  Website  •  Facebook


Motherhouse chapel, St. James church


Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top